Gloria Award

The International Latino Cultural Center of Chicago established the Gloria Lifetime Achievement Award in 1999 to recognize individuals and institutions that have significantly contributed to the development of the Latino community, both in Chicago and across the globe.  “Gloria represents a woman in a state of glory,” says Spanish artist Juan José Eguizábal, who created the Gloria. “Glory being the pinnacle of success and splendor, the highest recognition of excellence. Gloria represents the pureness of the moment.


2015 Gloria Award Recipient: Danilo Perez

We are proud to honor Panamanian pianist, Danilo Perez, with the 2015 Gloria Award. Danilo is more than a musical genius. He is a true champion of the arts. He believes in the transformative power of the arts, and in its ability to unite people from all walks of life. He has created a new musical idiom through such compositions as ‘Suite of the Americas’ and ‘The Canal Suite.’ He has inspired a new generation of musicians and artists who are now following in his footsteps.

In addition to over three decades of contributions to jazz and contemporary music, Pérez’s annual Panama Jazz Festival has brought world-renowned musicians to the country for the last 12 years, not only to perform but also to work closely with local youth. The mission of the festival is carried on throughout the year by the Fundación Danilo Pérez, which offers musical and cultural education to disadvantaged young people in Panama City. In Boston, Pérez currently serves as Artistic Director of the Berklee Global Jazz Institute, which offers students an opportunity to explore creativity and advance the social power of music through the restoration of ecology and humanity.

Beside, Panama 200, Pérez released the critically acclaimed record Children of the Light with bassist John Patitucci and drummer Brian Blade (Mack Avenue Records) on September 18th, 2015. Starting in October, Pérez, Patitucci and Blade will be touring in support of the new album through Europe and North America.

See our past Gloria Award recipients